• Welcome to the new Internet Infidels Discussion Board, formerly Talk Freethought.

Build your own "app"

Koyaanisqatsi

Veteran Member
Basic Beliefs
Spiritual atheist
Anyone have any experience creating their own app and/or have a program or site they would recommend for such a purpose? I need to make one for a client of mine and I've never done that before. They're a restaurant, so I'd need to integrate food delivery tracking and the like.

Yes, I know there are already existing services, but want to go down the diy research route first.

Merci!

If you don't know how to code you probably need to hire someone to build something, or use a pre-existing service.

Look at React Native. It works on all platforms, is responsive and you only need 1 codebase for iOS and Android. It's based on JavaScript, so you stand a chance of picking it up if you only know HTML....but it is NOT HTML.

Honestly, if you don't know coding, you should get someone who is. Especially if it involves anything to do with payments, like in-app ordering.

Look at React Native. It works on all platforms, is responsive and you only need 1 codebase for iOS and Android. It's based on JavaScript, so you stand a chance of picking it up if you only know HTML....but it is NOT HTML.

Honestly, if you don't know coding, you should get someone who is. Especially if it involves anything to do with payments, like in-app ordering.

Asking someone with no programming experience to quickly pick up and use React is like throwing a guy who knows how to bake Chicken properly into the kitchen of a 5 star restaurant.

I've been programming for 7 years including a lot of Javascript and the learning curve for React was steep even for me. Can't imagine it making any sense at all for someone who's never touched JS, let alone any server-side languages.