• Welcome to the new Internet Infidels Discussion Board, formerly Talk Freethought.

Funeral for My Religion

SLD

Contributor
Basic Beliefs
Freethinker

An interesting article from a pastor. No he’s not deconverted. He’s just lamenting the political direction that Christianity has taken, and it’s alignment with MAGA.

I suspect they’ll kill him before us. He’s a traitor. We’re just the enemy.

Seems like both parties in the article are poor observers trying to fit reality into their imagined perfect plan. They're both banging their heads hoping doing so will change how the other head bangers behave all because they believe in ghosts. Pretty insane stuff. How did their brains get that way?

I have found that there are three kinds of people, when it comes to disclosing that I'm a former seminarian/pastoral candidate. There are those (most) that care about the disclosure about as much as if I had commented I used to be a retail salesman or a plumber. There are those that react with interest and curiosity and questions they've always wanted to ask a man of the cloth but were too nervous to ask an actual priest (my favorite). And then, there's those who instantly get mad. These are always, always evangelical Christians. They do not tolerate dissent, nor recognize turncoats as ever having been legitimate in the first place. Anyone who was really faithful would never have left.

Reactions: SLD
An interesting article from a pastor. No he’s not deconverted. He’s just lamenting the political direction that Christianity has taken, and it’s alignment with MAGA.
If there's one Christian God, then his Holy Spirit leads his followers down different paths.
I suspect they’ll kill him before us. He’s a traitor. We’re just the enemy.
Some of the worse persecution inflicted on Christians is by Christians.

Reactions: SLD