• Welcome to the new Internet Infidels Discussion Board, formerly Talk Freethought.

Has anyone of you realized later that you chose the wrong university education/degree?

I studied for a BSc in Molecular Biology, because my dad and all my teachers said it was the 'next big thing' and that I should do it because I would be good at it. All of which was true, but missed the crucial point that I don't find it particularly inspiring.

So I dropped out of college and got a 'real job' working as a draughtsman/estimator for a commercial glazing subcontractor, which seemed like a good idea until the economy tanked six months later, and my employer (and half the other businesses in my home town) went bust.

I spent about three years in and out of work, doing whatever jobs I could get; I worked in more different industries and semi-skilled jobs than I can even remember, interspersed with long periods on unemployment benefits, and shorter periods on government training schemes teaching me skills for which there was no demand. Highlights include working on a building site laying 11kV cable in muddy trenches in the snow; Working in a tannery, both in the 'wet end' up to my knees in dead animal parts, and the 'dry end' digging solvent sludge out of the flue traps on spray coating machines; Working in the bullion store bulk cash room for a major bank; Any number of warehouse and stores jobs; Cleaning toilets in a shopping mall; And as a security and odd-job man for a manufacturer of ATMs.