• Welcome to the new Internet Infidels Discussion Board, formerly Talk Freethought.

How do you tell a good friend he's full of crap?

Tharmas

Veteran Member
Basic Beliefs
Pantheist
I’m reading a book (which shall remain nameless) written over thirty years ago (so late eighties) by a high school classmate who apparently earned a PhD in clinical psychology. This book was recommended to me by a good friend, another former classmate, who described a sort of life changing experience in reading it, and actually sent me a copy.

The book is absolute dreck. It uses a lot of alchemical vocabulary and other metaphysical metaphors for the journey of the soul, which longs for re-unification with the One, etc. I studied alchemy and other Western mystical traditions in graduate school, and read enough Jung back then, to appreciate the metaphors, but it soon becomes apparent that to the author, these are not mere metaphors. He writes a chapter developing the “hypothesis” that the soul must perforce reincarnate multiple times, and in the process accumulates good and bad karma.

Now this guy is a practicing clinical psychologist. His practice evidently concerns helping straighten out the bad karma a patient has accumulated in previous lives. There can be a problem if the therapist and patient have had a run in in previous lives and established bad karma between them. Unbelievable. People pay for this.

So my problem now is how do I let my friend know my actual opinion without ruining our friendship?

Why would your friendly critique of the claims in their book ruin the friendship?

I think you have to pick, your friendship or integrity. Or sincerity, or whatever you want to call it.
How do you deal with a friend who is making a horrible mistake in how they are raising their kid?

If he can't take your honest opinion without ruining your friendship, you can't. Just passively tell him you enjoyed it, and let life carry on like it would otherwise.