• Welcome to the new Internet Infidels Discussion Board, formerly Talk Freethought.

In the beginning...

Macroscopist

Basic Beliefs
Scientific atheist
I am a retired research scientist, actually a research microscopist, who spent over thirty years delving into the very small to find answers to medical problems and/or just understand how things work. I enjoyed my work but nearly everyone reaches a point where they wish to do something else before there is little else they can do.
As I said, I worked with microscopic things for most of my adult life, but I’d always had an interest in the macroscopic aspects of nature as well. I am fascinated by cosmology, geology and archeology — the history of the universe, as well as our planetary history and the history of our species.
I find that when one combines these views, the very small with the very big, eventually one must deal with questions of existence itself, the philosophy of being, if you will. In other words, the biggest questions of them all.
Why there is something rather than nothing? What is time? What is the Universe made from? What is our place as sentient beings? What is true and what isn’t?
All of these questions and more come to mind, and like many people before me, I search for answers.
But before I begin, I want to warn my readers that though I am pretty willing to entertain unprovable ideas and theories, I am at heart a scientist. Ultimately I believe in what is scientifically verifiable, and do use “Occam’s Razor” when necessary. Let me also say upfront I am a strong supporter of the process of Evolution, both biologically and in other usable settings. I believe in “bottom up” development, not “top down” design, because it is the only way I know of keeping out of logically infinite messes.
——