• Welcome to the new Internet Infidels Discussion Board, formerly Talk Freethought.

Painting is easy. You push coloured muck around until it looks right.

Nice!

I have no 'drawing' talent.. .at.all. Like so many, my skill level stopped increasing at age 5.

My wife started painting acrylic on canvas.. Abstract / Impressionist stuff. She's been at it for only 3 years or so, but last year she sold one of her paintings at a gallery.. for like a friggin lot of money. I was amazed... mostly because I don't "get" abstract art. My own failing.

I AM a darn good woodworker, though. So I support my wife's hobby by building her canvases. I use some pretty heavy weight cotton duck that she picked out and I get by the roll. I fabricate the stretcher arms from basic lumber stock. I can make any size canvas, up to 12 foot by 12 foot. She generally asks for 4 x 3 or 2 x 3. Very large format stuff.

She paints on canvases that would have cost over $200 to buy, that I built for around $30 in materials.

Technically, they are "strainers", not "stretchers"... but they are Archival Quality.

So, what did you get distracted by at age 5?

Ohh... I don't paint- I do math/programming art.

What I have heard is that most kids without the benefit of a lot of encouragement give up drawing at an early age because they observe other kids with 'natural talent' drawing far better then themselves, so they give it up.

I can distinctly remember a babysitter of mine using my crayons with me and producing a picture (of a clown, I think I remember it being) that was so good, the lesson that "it's not your tools its your skill" sank in with a shock... even those "toys" were capable of producing something so ridiculously beyond my ability, it was evident that I just sucked at it.

My current drawing "skill" is only in the area of engineering and geometry with the assistance of graph paper. Good enough to visualize solutions, but not good enough for anyone to reasonably know what the hell I just drew.