• Welcome to the new Internet Infidels Discussion Board, formerly Talk Freethought.

What Live Event Did You See (Rate it)?

Jimmy Higgins

Contributor
Basic Beliefs
Calvinistic Atheist
Well, we have TV, Movies, but nothing for events, concerts, musicals, comedy, etc... so we probably need to have a thread on it.

I happened to do a couple of things this past weekend.

Fun Home (musical) - A musical about a lesbian cartoonist who is trying to come to grips with the death of her father. I'm not giving much away there, they let you know what happens a few minutes in. The show covers three primary times of the cartoonist's life, her childhood, college, and present day (from where she narrates the musical). It is a small cast and enjoyable, though a bit intense here and there. I thought some of the lyrics was a little labored (maybe trying to hard to be West Side Story?, but I'm not a musician, so I may be full of it). Enjoyed the show, but I wouldn't consider it something I would consider an essential.

One thing completely messed with my mind. There is one character that comes to work at the home, the age of the guy completely didn't sell to me he was a teenager, I thought he was in his 20's, which led to some confusion on my part regarding the significance of some events involving him. 3 of 4

David Sedaris (comedy) -