• Welcome to the new Internet Infidels Discussion Board, formerly Talk Freethought.

Zen Buddhism vs Advaita Vedanta

rousseau

Contributor
I made this thread a few weeks ago, but had it removed as I figured it wouldn't get much traction or interest. But I'm going to give it another go, mainly to work through and write about these ideas (and hopefully they're helpful to some).

A few years ago I studied Zen Buddhism over the course of a couple months, mainly via D.T. Suzuki. At the time I became quite absorbed in, and took a lot away from it. Then about a year later I discovered Advaita Vedanta Hinduism, which seems to have some similar elements as Zen, but a slightly different approach. After studying Advaita I found myself even more influenced by it than I was Zen.

To me one of the takeaways from both of these philosophies (I'm going to call them philosophy rather than religion), is that they attempt to see the world and reality as it really is, in order to quell the human tendency to obsess over the minutiae of life. In other words, they aim to cut through the noise of the mind, and in some respects let that noise go.

But to me there are a few key differences which I'll outline here:

Zen Buddhism

In Zen we're making an attempt to quiet the mind by looking underneath conceptual thought. In Zen there is a kind of focus on nothing, the lack of human frameworks, which frees us from the bondage of our day to day stress.

Advaita Vedanta

Whereas in Advaita we're still trying to remove ourselves from day to day stress, but instead of looking interior to conceptual thought, we're recognizing the wholeness of the universe. This sounds a bit cheesy and stale at first, but when you apply scientific concepts to it, it makes more sense. In the Advaita view the mind shouldn't be quiet, the mind perceiving problems is what it's supposed to be doing, and what it's always going to do, and isn't something we need to hide from.