• Welcome to the new Internet Infidels Discussion Board, formerly Talk Freethought.

Tire Pressure

Suppose you have a tire rated to carry 5000 pounds when inflated with 50 psi.

If you inflated it to 100 psi, it would bulge in the middle (of the surface that is supposed to be flat on the road), causing reduced traction and uneven tread wear.

You could accomplish exactly the same thing by leaving the psi at 50 but reducing the load to 2500 pounds.

That said, let me make two points:

1. I'm no expert. I'm just parroting what I was told.

2. I have no way to weigh each wheel, so I just run at the pressure suggested by the door plate.

I'm thinking about tires on a typical passenger car, which I'm certain is basically the same as any pneumatic truck tire. The tires I'm running are 35psi max. That's where I run them. I think the door says to run them slightly lower at about 32. When I have my car serviced that's what they come back as, 32psi.

If I were to inflate them to 16psi I would be damaging the tire, the condition would be unsafe, and the monitoring system would give me an alarm.

Newer tires that have that low profile are inflated to higher pressures, but I don't think the relationship you heard about is valid.
With cars and small trucks, there’s only so much weight that can be carried and pulled, so the difference between optimal air pressure while being empty and pulling nothing vs maxed out and pulling at full capacity is negligible; however, a beast capable of moving mountains has a substantive need for extra air pressure that is harmful overkill if traveling light.
This pretty much nails the issue right here.