• Welcome to the new Internet Infidels Discussion Board, formerly Talk Freethought.

Applying Symbolic Logic

steve_bank

Diabetic retinopathy and poor eyesight. Typos ...
Basic Beliefs
secular-skeptic
Somebody was always asking how logic is applied. I know a form of symbolic logic from electronics, Bollean Algebra.

I am not an expert in mathematical logic and formal logic under philosophy/

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_logic_symbols

There are several basic logic functions that can be applied to arguments, there are different symbol sets.

Basic syllogisms tend to be AND OR and NOT.

AND, OR, NOT(inversion)

AND &
a & b = c

a b c
T F F
F T F
T T T

P1 Cats meow
P2 Cats purr
P3 Casper purrs and meows
C Casper is a cat

(P1 & P2) & (P3) = C

Truth Table
p1 p2 p3 c
F F F F
F F T F
F T F F
F T T F
T F F F
T F T F
T T F F
T T T T
F T F F

OR ||
a || b = c

a b c
F F F
F T T
T F T
T T T

If it rains or snows the it will be cloudy

a b c
f f f
f t t
t f t
t t t

NOT negation !
a = !b

a = {all cats}
b = !a
b is not a cat

EXCLUSIVE OR mutual exclusion one or the other but not both , can't do the symbol
a XOR b = C
a b c
F F F
F T T
T F T
T T F

Joe is Greek or he is over 6 feet tall but not both.

Complex text arguments can be reduced to symbolic logic. The truth table mapping the input variables true and false sates determines if the argument is true. Truth tables can be generated by a computer alhorithm. Done routinely in electroics simulators.

steve bank said:
P1 Cats meow
P2 Cats purr
C Casper is a cat
That argument is invalid.
Consider the following variant:

P1': Lions roar.
P2': Lions grunt.
P3': Felix roars and grunt.
C': Felix is a lion.

Yet, as it turns out, Felix is not a lion, but a tiger. The premises are true, but the conclusion is false, so the argument is not valid.

steve bank said:
(P1 & P2) & (P3) = C