• Welcome to the new Internet Infidels Discussion Board, formerly Talk Freethought.

Civil3D must die!!!

Jimmy Higgins

Contributor
Basic Beliefs
Calvinistic Atheist
I've been using CAD for a couple decades now. CAD has come a long way and there have been many improvements. Unfortunately, the layers and webs of the benefits have now entangled into each other making it very hard to actually do anything these days. For instance, it shouldn't take a philosopher to figure what layer(s) needs to be on for that layer to be on.

The layer nesting is unbelievably complicated and when you mix it with a bunch of other files from another company, then you can be up shit's creek, having no idea what this or that isn't showing.

This used to be an issue with Blocks. You'd have layers nested in a block, so when you tried to Layoff a layer in the block, it didn't do anything. Now days, you need to have several layers on, to see a single layer. There doesn't seem to be an obvious layer hierarchy. *GAAAAAAAAA!!!!!*

So, it must die.

I've been using CAD for a couple decades now. CAD has come a long way and there have been many improvements. Unfortunately, the layers and webs of the benefits have now entangled into each other making it very hard to actually do anything these days. For instance, it shouldn't take a philosopher to figure what layer(s) needs to be on for that layer to be on.

The layer nesting is unbelievably complicated and when you mix it with a bunch of other files from another company, then you can be up shit's creek, having no idea what this or that isn't showing.

This used to be an issue with Blocks. You'd have layers nested in a block, so when you tried to Layoff a layer in the block, it didn't do anything. Now days, you need to have several layers on, to see a single layer. There doesn't seem to be an obvious layer hierarchy. *GAAAAAAAAA!!!!!*

So, it must die.
Careful what you wish for. I believe Revit is exponentially more annoying

Try Photoshop some day.