• Welcome to the new Internet Infidels Discussion Board, formerly Talk Freethought.

Making Coffee

steve_bank

Diabetic retinopathy and poor eyesight. Typos ...
Basic Beliefs
secular-skeptic
I used to use a French Press. Then I used a coffee maker. I'd end up making and drinking too much.

I tries the single cup drip funnels. They were messy with the wet filters and required more coffee to make a good cup.

Now I put a cup of water in a Pyrex cup. Add coffee and stir. Then microwave for 5 minutes. I let sit for a minute and then drain through a stainless steel screen that was meant for kitchen sink drains.

Minimizes the amount of coffee I use and I get the same brew every time. Easy cleanup, rinse in the sink.

I've been using a french press for about seven years now, more recently a stove top as well. Oddly enough my grinder (Baratza Virtuoso) is the most expensive piece of equipment I own, next to that it'd be a programmable kettle with a french press setting.

When I initially got into grinding my own beans I had a pretty mediocre grinder, took me a long time to bite the bullet on an upgrade. Expensive (think it was just shy of 400 CDN), but it's a flawless grinder, and will likely last me well over a decade.

Minimizes the amount of coffee I use and I get the same brew every time. Easy cleanup, rinse in the sink.

Guess people have different priorities. I buy freshly roasted, unground beans. Can't imagine microwaving coffee making it taste very good, but if you were using something like grocery store grind then.. meh.

In the past I used Pete's. Tully's Starbucks and others.

Now I use good old Maxwell House Columbian grocery store coffee.

I'm doomed to drink expensive coffee. I've been drinking it for so long now that the sheen's worn off, but when I've tried to switch back to cheaper varieties I find it undrinkable.

For most people this isn't a problem because they add cream and sugar, which is how you make it palatable.