• Welcome to the new Internet Infidels Discussion Board, formerly Talk Freethought.

the science of intent, aka the Force

tantric

Basic Beliefs
rational buddhism
i got this book at random from a free book pile, called the Intention Experiment. it's about whether or not focused attention can change reality in a testable way. it claims to have scientific proof, but i'm still in the first chapter. now understand, i did 3 years worth of phd study in ecology and epidemiology, both hard sciences, with a focus on mathematical modelling. i *love* science, but science isn't some dogma that explains how the universe works so there's no mystery and everything is explained. that's science-as-religion and it's not the right way to go about it. see, before i was a scientist, i was a crazy psychedelic swilling street shaman. at one point i got heavily addicted to morphine, then methadone. when i quit, i used an experimental technique i devised from things i read on JSTOR and it worked - instead of withdrawal, i had religious visions and afterwards i had no urge to use at all. in that vision, this guy, who was painted on my closet door:

JaguarDream.jpg

came to me and healed me. he said, tomorrow you're going to want to rationalize what's happening here. that's what rationalizing does, it explains things away so you don't have to worry about them anymore. but just because you can rationalize anything, doesn't mean that irrational things never happen.

so, i didn't. i accepted it for what it was, while, at the same time, knowing that i'd cured my addiction by chemically signalling the part of my brain that processes religion and awe. it's both - the thing *happened*, what words i use for it don't change that. it's not scientific to be unwilling to admit you don't know an answer, or that in all likelihood, you'll never know. that's mystery, and that's what most scientists love about the universe.