• Welcome to the new Internet Infidels Discussion Board, formerly Talk Freethought.

The square root of two (an argument with inconsistent premises)

Is the deduction from an inconsistent set of premises in the argument in the OP, valid?

• Other (please explain).

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
To keep up my nitpicking, this isn't algebra (which to a modern mathematician, means abstract algebra). This is basic number theory, or arithmetic, in which one of the most important early theorems is the uniqueness of prime factorization, also known as "The Fundamental Theorem of Arithmetic".

To keep up my nitpicking, this isn't algebra (which to a modern mathematician, means abstract algebra). This is basic number theory, or arithmetic, in which one of the most important early theorems is the uniqueness of prime factorization, also known as "The Fundamental Theorem of Arithmetic".
I studied the Fundamental Theorem of Arithmetic (and related matters) in a course named "Algebra 1", and that is standard over here. It's essentially one of the first things one studies in college. The sort of fine-grained distinction you are making is not generally made a such an elementary level. Courses focusing only on number theory are much more advanced. But I guess it's probably different over there, so he'd likely have to take a course in number theory to understand the proof? That's even less likely to happen. Oh well. :(

I think I probably first came across the proof in a course called something like "introducing mathematics". It's still number theory --- being a theorem in the theory of natural numbers --- even if very basic. And most of that textbook you linked is number theory too.

I voted "not valid".