• Welcome to the new Internet Infidels Discussion Board, formerly Talk Freethought.

How much of a pain in the ass would it be to migrate from one password manager to another?

Underseer

Contributor
Basic Beliefs
atheism, resistentialism
It took me far too long to break down and start using a password manager.

I'm currently using the freebie password manager that comes with Norton because I happen to have a subscription right now. I figure Norton has pretty decent computer security protecting my password information because they offer a lot of security-related services and it would be really embarrassing for them to suffer a break-in. I'm hoping that the security they have for their anti-virus products and all those accounts for anti-virus customers will also mean similarly enhanced security for people using their password manager, which works off of the same accounts.

Anyway, it helpfully nags me into changing duplicate passwords (i have an embarrassing number of those), and it nags me to change older passwords. I just recently changed a large number of account passwords (but not nearly as many as Norton Password Manager wanted me to change), and felt pretty good about myself.

Anyway, part of the purpose of this thread is to nag fellow curmudgeons into using a password manager if you don't already, but also to ask those more knowledgeable if it is worth it to purchase a dedicated password manager, and if so, how much of a pain in the ass is it to migrate from one to another?

I'm using LastPass, I have a few gripes with it.

I have a couple of cases of "duplicate" passwords it nags me about, there is supposed to be a way of telling it that the two logins are really the same site and should have the same password but last I checked it was impossible to do in Firefox.

It also nags me about weak passwords on sites where I don't care about the password strength.