• Welcome to the new Internet Infidels Discussion Board, formerly Talk Freethought.

Modern Algebra

beero1000

Veteran Member
Basic Beliefs
Atheist
I'm scheduled to teach a course on abstract algebra next semester, so I've been considering textbooks for potential adoption. I found this text, which is my front-runner at the moment: Abstract Algebra: Theory and Applications by Judson. It's a free and open-source textbook, and from my initial inspection it seems well written and edited. It also has computational material in Sage to complement the theoretical bits.

Other contenders: A First Course in Abstract Algebra by Fraleigh, and Algebra by Artin.

I figured I'd post the link in case anyone was interested and I'd also ask if anyone has a modern algebra text they'd recommend.

Depending on demand, I may also post my lecture notes here. (But, since this is my first time teaching algebra, you'll just have to wait until I write them first...)

I'm scheduled to teach a course on abstract algebra next semester, so I've been considering textbooks for potential adoption. I found this text, which is my front-runner at the moment: Abstract Algebra: Theory and Applications by Judson. It's a free and open-source textbook, and from my initial inspection it seems well written and edited. It also has computational material in Sage to complement the theoretical bits.

Other contenders: A First Course in Abstract Algebra by Fraleigh, and Algebra by Artin.

I figured I'd post the link in case anyone was interested and I'd also ask if anyone has a modern algebra text they'd recommend.

Depending on demand, I may also post my lecture notes here. (But, since this is my first time teaching algebra, you'll just have to wait until I write them first...)