• Welcome to the new Internet Infidels Discussion Board, formerly Talk Freethought.

Quantum Poetics

WAB

Veteran Member
Basic Beliefs
n/a
Can there ever be a meaningful, useful synthesis of science and poetry? Since I'm not a scientist, I've no possible way to really approach the question, but I know* there are scientist/poets amongst us here who might be able to.

The Alphabets of the Future are Wormholes

Heisenberg, whose uncertainty principle was part of his development of matrix mechanics, was concerned that quantum theory does not have an adequate language beyond mathematics to describe it. Heisenberg comes close to proposing that poetry is that language in Physics and Philosophy (1958) when, immediately after articulating this concern, he references Goethe’s Faust to describe his understanding of the structure of language. Mephistopheles says that while formal education instructs that logic braces the mind “in Spanish boots so tightly laced,” and that even spontaneous acts require a sequential process (“one, two, three!”):

In truth the subtle web of thought
Is like the weaver’s fabric wrought:
One treadle moves a thousand lines,
Swift dart the shuttles to and fro,
Unseen the threads together flow,
A thousand knots one stroke combines.