• Welcome to the new Internet Infidels Discussion Board, formerly Talk Freethought.

SQL is fucking weird

Underseer

Contributor
Basic Beliefs
atheism, resistentialism
Ahem.

So I'm almost entirely self-taught when it comes to computers. I learned C++ by looking at other people's programs, editing them, and paying attention to what happened as a result of the changes, although I didn't really wrap my head around all that object-oriented stuff until I bought a book on C++.

I've finally decided to bite the bullet and get a low-grade certification in something, and right now I'm taking a database class where I'm finally learning the reason for the peculiar terminology I kept seeing in relational database software. I have to admit that I was never able to teach myself SQL just by picking apart or editing other people's code the way I can with procedural languages. I'm now on my second chapter on SQL, and I still don't quite have my brain wrapped around it.

It's just weird as fuck.

SQL is in a different ballpark than C based languages, as it's more about data querying than manipulation and transformation. But if you can learn a basic select, the various join types, how to do a multi-join, and maybe a group by that'll cover the vast majority of cases you'll ever need.

After that point you just need to assume SQL can do whatever it is you want to do, then find the query you're looking for on Stack Overflow. It can get pretty funky, and it's way easier to just find someone who's done the work already.

Thanks for the advice.

One thing that really trips me up is the fact that an alias can be referenced before it is defined because inner queries are evaluated before outer. That often makes my brain hurt (that doesn't take much at my age). Anyway, I had one SQL line in the textbook that contained the following:

Code:
WHERE [i]tablename[/i],
       ([i]subquery[/i]) CP1,
       ([i]subquery[/i]) CP2