• Welcome to the new Internet Infidels Discussion Board, formerly Talk Freethought.

What is wilful ignorance?

Ah, good, I just learnt a new word:
mansplain
slang
For a man to explain something to someone, usually a woman, in a condescending manner. I've been doing this job for 20 years—I don't need some boy fresh out of college mansplaining it to me! Gee, thanks for mansplaining feminism to me.
EB

I keep hearing claims about wilful ignorance, but I still don't understand what it is or how it could be possible, epistemologically. Take an example:

- Person A believes people were created by God because they don't understand evolution and science

If this person is intentionally failing to learn evolution and science so they can continue their belief, wouldn't that imply they don't fully believe their own claim? If they know understanding science will undermine their claim, then they already believe in science. In which case the example wouldn't be wilful ignorance, it would be disingenuousness.

Or what am I missing?