• Welcome to the new Internet Infidels Discussion Board, formerly Talk Freethought.

Yale students allowed to skip midterm test because of Trump win

skepticalbip

Contributor
Searching for reality along the long and winding r
Basic Beliefs
Everything we know is wrong (to some degree)
If students are so distraught that they can't take a test, how the hell are they going to function when they get out in the real world?

It was a fucking election. We have them every two years with about half of the voters disappointed in every election. Plus there are much more traumatic events than this that happen all the time.

Personally, I was a student when Kennedy was assassinated. Classes were suspended for the rest of the day but we were back taking tests the next day.

http://nypost.com/2016/11/09/yale-professor-lets-students-skip-test-in-wake-of-trump-victory/

ETA:
Would Yale have allowed Trump supporters in the class to skip the test if Clinton had won?

Last edited:
If students are so distraught that they can't take a test, how the hell are they going to function when they get out in the real world?

It was a fucking election. We have them every two years with about half of the voters disappointed in every election. Plus there are much more traumatic events than this that happen all the time.

Personally, I was a student when Kennedy was assassinated. Classes were suspended for the rest of the day but we were back taking tests the next day.

http://nypost.com/2016/11/09/yale-professor-lets-students-skip-test-in-wake-of-trump-victory/

ETA:
Would Yale have allowed Trump supporters in the class to skip the test if Clinton had won?

I don't think students are allowed to admit to be Trump supporters. Universities must be safe spaces after all.

How wasteful. Right now, it's even more important to focus. The professors should be handing out academic pitchforks instead.

ETA:

I think the idea is if you skip testing that gives them time to protest? I think?