• Welcome to the new Internet Infidels Discussion Board, formerly Talk Freethought.

Is it time for us to start working on leaving the planet?

ryan

Veteran Member
Basic Beliefs
a little of everything
Before you answer the title, please read the following.

There are some of us in this world who understand that the world is never going to be safe for us as long as there are conflicting interests in geopolitics, religion and other ideologies.

I never realized how detrimental geopolitics was and is until I studied some history. Even to this day geopolitics is a huge cause of wars, tension and many other ugly things. Israel and Palestine, Russia and Georgia/Ukraine, Iraq and Kuwait; Norway, Canada, Russia and the North Pole; American natives and America; U.S. military needing to occupy Saudi Arabia to help Kuwait while angering powerful people like Osama Bin Laden, and the list goes on and on. Nobody is totally right, and nobody is totally wrong in all of these examples.

The point is that all of these problems seem to be closely related to geopolitics. This, of course, is something that a space colony or space colonies will not solve but at least help ease.

Religion, nothing else needs to be said.

Finally, there are other extreme ideologies that result in conflicting behaviors and conflicts within societies. KKK, God Hates Fags group, gangs, Hell's Angels - let them stay in hell unless they denounce their association with the group, terrorists, etc. are just a few examples.

Imagine space colonies, and within each colony there would be similar ideologies. I actually believe that the people who are not beholden to this Earth and are interested in pursuing and living in peace and progression rather than being stuck in their destructive religions and whatnot will only need one or only a few kinds of space colonies.