• Welcome to the new Internet Infidels Discussion Board, formerly Talk Freethought.

Painting is easy. You push coloured muck around until it looks right.

Nice!

I have no 'drawing' talent.. .at.all. Like so many, my skill level stopped increasing at age 5.

My wife started painting acrylic on canvas.. Abstract / Impressionist stuff. She's been at it for only 3 years or so, but last year she sold one of her paintings at a gallery.. for like a friggin lot of money. I was amazed... mostly because I don't "get" abstract art. My own failing.

I AM a darn good woodworker, though. So I support my wife's hobby by building her canvases. I use some pretty heavy weight cotton duck that she picked out and I get by the roll. I fabricate the stretcher arms from basic lumber stock. I can make any size canvas, up to 12 foot by 12 foot. She generally asks for 4 x 3 or 2 x 3. Very large format stuff.

She paints on canvases that would have cost over $200 to buy, that I built for around $30 in materials.

Technically, they are "strainers", not "stretchers"... but they are Archival Quality.

It's an interesting question: who gets discouraged and why?

Like you, at about age 5, I had a babysitter who was very good at sketching with pencil and paper, plentiful supplies. Instead of being discouraged by her talent, I was inspired and wanted to do what she did. I did a fair amount of sketching, pen and ink, pencil, charcoal, etc. for quite a number of years. Not much painting: that took money and that was always short supply.