• Welcome to the new Internet Infidels Discussion Board, formerly Talk Freethought.

Test your understanding of Evolution

ronburgundy

Contributor
Basic Beliefs
Atheist/Scientist
Hello nerds. I am helping a friend to refine some questions designed to test people's understanding of natural selection. I am interested in your feedback about the quality of these questions and answer options. Note that these are not intended to be comprehensive and cover all aspects of evolution, and should be somewhat difficult for a total novice. Besides critiques, I am interested in which one's you got wrong and what you think your general level of expertise on evolution is. Questions that Biology Ph.Ds get wrong indicate a problem for the test.

Answers are hidden after each Q.

1. Imagine that pollution caused the tree trunks in the countryside to become covered in black soot and ash. Years later, scientists notice that the local moths are also darker than they used to be. Which of the following would be a good evolutionary explanation for this?
a) The moths changed to a darker color in order to blend in with their surroundings
b) The moths that happened to be born darker were more likely to survive and reproduce
c) The lighter moths migrated to a different habitat with lighter colored trees
d) Evolution would not be relevant to this situation

b

2. A species of woodpeckers have one-inch long beaks, on average, and their main food source are bugs that live inside trees with bark that is about one and a half inches thick. Compared to its parents, the offspring of any two woodpeckers should be born with which of the following features?
a) A shorter beak, because one generation is not long enough for adaptive variations
b) A longer beak, because the offspring will adapt to what is necessary for their survival
c) Either a shorter or longer beak is equally likely, because variation from parents is random
d) All offspring would have to have the exact same length beak as their parents

c