• Welcome to the new Internet Infidels Discussion Board, formerly Talk Freethought.

The experience of God

Angry Floof

Tricksy Leftits
Staff member
Basic Beliefs
Humanist
Have you ever asked a theist to describe the experience of God?

Not to oversimplify the complex, but I've come to see belief as roughly two forms: ideological and experiential.

I believe ideologically that we are made of star stuff based in the science of stars and elements, i.e., knowledge gained through scientific methods. I have no experience to tell my brain through my senses that iron is forged in dying stars, or even that there is iron in my blood, but I believe these things based on evidence revealed through science and available through education and information technology.

I believe ideologically that atoms are not "tiny, hard things," but that matter is made of empty space, movement, electromagnetic forces, etc. However, my senses tell me that a coffee table is a hard, solid thing. I can safely (and usefully) hold the erroneous belief that the coffee table is not made of empty space but of something solid and hard because my senses and my brain take pain very seriously as a real thing when I bang my knee on it. I mean, it's kind of crucial to survival that we operate this way.

I am interested in how our minds can create transcendent experiences, as real as any physical pain, of otherworldy presence, of massive restructuring of our reality, of a dissolving the perceived line between self and universe, and just how powerful such experiences can be, even for us atheists.

So I'm curious about how self-identified theists of organized belief systems and traditions describe the experience of God as opposed to offering a description from a story they've learned about what the magical, invisible entity called God is supposed to be like.