• Welcome to the new Internet Infidels Discussion Board, formerly Talk Freethought.

Thinking about some sort of database certification

Underseer

Contributor
Basic Beliefs
atheism, resistentialism
I would love to get into data analysis, but I would rather take some sort of baby step to get there. Database administration sounds like a good interim step, and a decent fallback position if the data analysis thing doesn't work out.

Most of my IT experience with databases is in smaller shops where I was the only IT guy and was dealing with a smaller, less complicated set of servers doing less complicated things. I have very little actual experience with serious enterprise-grade databases, and what little I learned about SQL was forgotten long ago.

So what certification is the most marketable? Which specific skills do I need to work on the most to be more marketable? Where is the demand in the job market?

- - - Updated - - -

I want to take classes, but I don't even know where to start.

I would love to get into data analysis, but I would rather take some sort of baby step to get there. Database administration sounds like a good interim step, and a decent fallback position if the data analysis thing doesn't work out.

Most of my IT experience with databases is in smaller shops where I was the only IT guy and was dealing with a smaller, less complicated set of servers doing less complicated things. I have very little actual experience with serious enterprise-grade databases, and what little I learned about SQL was forgotten long ago.

So what certification is the most marketable? Which specific skills do I need to work on the most to be more marketable? Where is the demand in the job market?

- - - Updated - - -

Everything I know about the industry points to work experience being your most valuable asset.

Certifications, afaik, are typically an over and above comp-sci/programming diplomas