• Welcome to the new Internet Infidels Discussion Board, formerly Talk Freethought.

Your take on Buddhist liberation

rousseau

Contributor
I've been studying Buddhism and Zen Buddhism for about five years now. In that time I've read the likes of D.T. Suzuki, Alan Watts, Dogen, and The Blue Cliff Record. So I'm starting to get a sense of what Buddhism is about when you get into the depths of it. But I'm confused about the concept of liberation.

Early Buddhists believed that total liberation was possible, but to my eye many of their methods look like a modern mindfulness technique. In a nut-shell: understanding what the world is, understanding what I am, and accepting the world as it is. No doubt very helpful ideas and philosophy but .. liberation? Is it real? Is it possible?

As far as I can gather Buddhism lays a sheath of mysticism over the natural world, and helps adherents find it bearable. But we still have real, material problems that don't go away.

What do you think?

When I read Buddhism in the 70s I came to think it was a psychology. Buddha was the first 'self help' guru im modern parlance.

To live is to experience suffering. Some not your ding, some suffering caused by what you become attached to. If you think to be a happy man you have to look lke a 20 something body buider to attract women you will likely make yourself unhappy. We form meaningless attachments and suffer when we don't get the illusory image.

I think the rise in younger suicide, drug addiction, alcoholism, and poor mental health has to do with with how people are attached to the pop culture images. Pop culture is as empty as it gets.

The elimination of craving, or being ruled by desires. In modern terms liberation simpy means a healthy balanced kife were you understand karma, IOW mental causality, of what drives you to self destructive behavior.

If you value, or crave, accunulating material things then yuu suffer if you don;t get it.